Clyde Snow

The Basics

by | Aug 12, 2020

What is the minimum wage in Utah?

$7.25, which is the same as the federal minimum wage. (Utah Admin. Code r. R610-1-3.)

Is overtime required under Utah law?

Overtime is not required under Utah law, except for employees who are working on state contracts. Employees working on state contracts are entitled to 1.5 times their regular rate for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek. (Utah Code § 34-30-8.) In addition, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act entitles most hourly employees to 1.5 their regular rate for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek.

What employee time is compensable under Utah law?

Under Utah law, “[h]ours employed” is defined to include “all time during which an employee is required to be working, to be on the employer’s premises ready to work, to be on duty, to be at a prescribed work place, to attend a meeting or training, and for time utilized during established rest or break periods excluding meal periods of 30 minutes or more where the employee is relieved of all responsibilities.” (Utah Admin. Code R610-1-2.) Note that under this rule, rest periods are compensable time, and meal periods are compensable time unless the employee is relieved of all responsibilities for at least 30 minutes.

How often must employees be paid under Utah law?

Hourly employees must be paid at least twice per month on regular, predetermined paydays. Each payday must occur within 10 days of the end of the corresponding pay period. If a payday falls on a weekend or a legal holiday, the wages must be paid on the preceding business day. (Utah Code 34-28-3(1).)

Salaried employees must be paid at least monthly. Payment for each month is due within the first seven days of the following month. (Utah Code 34-28-3(1)(d).)

When is an employee’s final paycheck due?

If an employee is involuntarily terminated, all unpaid wages must be paid within 24 hours of the termination. Payment is deemed to have timely occurred if an envelope containing the paycheck is postmarked by the next day, if a direct deposit is initiated within 24 hours of the termination, or if the paycheck is hand-delivered to the employee within 24 hours of the termination. (Utah Code 34-28-5(1).)

If an employee resigns, all unpaid wages are due on the next regular payday. (Utah Code 34-28-5(2).)

Sign up for our latest updates.

Recent Posts

Processing the Final Paycheck for a Deceased Employee

As a business owner, you have probably encountered situations where you found yourself unprepared. Let's be honest. No matter how hard we try to anticipate future events, there will always be somewhere we find ourselves unprepared. One incident that no one is ever...

Ripple Effect 142: Gutter Bin – Stormwater Filtration

Brian Deurloo, President and Founder of Frog Creek Partners, gives us the story of his novel invention: the Gutter Bin stormwater filtration system. We learn the inspiring details of Brian's efforts to better himself and the water world. An elegantly simple and...

Ripple Effect Rewind! – Regenerative Agriculture

This week we are revisiting an earlier episode that is still highly relevant to today's water discussion. We are looking back on episode 68: Regenerative Agriculture.Shelby Smith, Master's Candidate at the UCSB Bren School of Environmental Science &...

The Guide to Getting Divorced in Utah – Grounds, Process & Key Steps

You have uttered the four words you hope never to say in your relationship: "I want a divorce." Getting a divorce can be emotionally draining, scary, and frustrating. But with an attorney's support, filing for divorce can be much easier and less intimidating. At Clyde...

Ripple Effect 141: The Water Report

Shaina Shay, Owner and Editor of The Water Report, gives us a great overview of this invaluable newsletter and her approach to water reporting. We discuss the importance of long format journalism and trends she is seeing across various water sectors. 

Related Posts