Clyde Snow

The Basics

by | Aug 12, 2020

What is the minimum wage in Utah?

$7.25, which is the same as the federal minimum wage. (Utah Admin. Code r. R610-1-3.)

Is overtime required under Utah law?

Overtime is not required under Utah law, except for employees who are working on state contracts. Employees working on state contracts are entitled to 1.5 times their regular rate for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek. (Utah Code § 34-30-8.) In addition, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act entitles most hourly employees to 1.5 their regular rate for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek.

What employee time is compensable under Utah law?

Under Utah law, “[h]ours employed” is defined to include “all time during which an employee is required to be working, to be on the employer’s premises ready to work, to be on duty, to be at a prescribed work place, to attend a meeting or training, and for time utilized during established rest or break periods excluding meal periods of 30 minutes or more where the employee is relieved of all responsibilities.” (Utah Admin. Code R610-1-2.) Note that under this rule, rest periods are compensable time, and meal periods are compensable time unless the employee is relieved of all responsibilities for at least 30 minutes.

How often must employees be paid under Utah law?

Hourly employees must be paid at least twice per month on regular, predetermined paydays. Each payday must occur within 10 days of the end of the corresponding pay period. If a payday falls on a weekend or a legal holiday, the wages must be paid on the preceding business day. (Utah Code 34-28-3(1).)

Salaried employees must be paid at least monthly. Payment for each month is due within the first seven days of the following month. (Utah Code 34-28-3(1)(d).)

When is an employee’s final paycheck due?

If an employee is involuntarily terminated, all unpaid wages must be paid within 24 hours of the termination. Payment is deemed to have timely occurred if an envelope containing the paycheck is postmarked by the next day, if a direct deposit is initiated within 24 hours of the termination, or if the paycheck is hand-delivered to the employee within 24 hours of the termination. (Utah Code 34-28-5(1).)

If an employee resigns, all unpaid wages are due on the next regular payday. (Utah Code 34-28-5(2).)

Sign up for our latest updates.

Recent Posts

The Ripple Effect Episode 133: Solar Garden Agrivoltaics

Byron Kominek, Owner and Manager of Jack's Solar Garden, explains how he revitalized his family farm with modern technology. A creative approach that mixes old-world farming and new-world energy production in mutually beneficial symbiosis.

Wills, Trusts, and Probates: Estate Planning with Wayne Bennett

When planning to transfer your possessions to your loved ones, it can be daunting, both due to the burden of paperwork and familial pressure. This is precisely why developing and arranging a will and trust with a trusted professional is critical. Today Wayne Bennett...

The Ripple Effect Episode 131: Ivory Homes’ Water Wise Developments

Clint Larson, Manager of Major Projects and Custom Homes for Ivory Homes, walks us through his organization's transition to adopting water wise landscaping and planning at the subdivision scale. A great talk about organizational change, growth in Utah, and effective...

The Ripple Effect Episode 130: PFAS and Artificial Grass

Chelsea Benjamin, Water Policy Fellow at Western Resource Advocates, expounds on her team's research of artificial turf. There's far more to consider than just cost and water savings. A fascinating discussion full of facts that may surprise you.

Related Posts